25: Friendship

Friendship can be defined in many ways depending on whom you ask. To me friendship is a bond between people who stay strong no matter how far away they are from each other, how often they speak or how frequently they meet. It’s that mutually dependency that’s never-changing. It’s to be able to be oneself in the presence of others, stripped down without the glitz and the glam and the pretence. It’s being able to laugh, cry and simply co-exist in silence.

A good quote about friendship:

A friend should be one in whose understanding and virtue we can equally confide, and whose opinion we can value at once for its justness and its sincerity. – Robert Hall

A quote that pretty much describes me:

 Be courteous to all, but intimate with few, and let those few be well tried before you give them your confidence. – George Washington
 
George my man, you got it. This pretty much nails it. I might be outgoing or introverted, it all depends on my mood. What I can say is that I can be friendly and open to a lot of new people, but it takes me a while to give them my trust and thus invite them into my circle. But I am a loyal friend, and I will be your friend forever if you are just as dedicated as me.
 
The thing is… friendship is not about giving and taking. It’s a dialogue, not a monologue. You give and you receive. You don’t back out if your friend suddenly isn’t feeling like shopping or partying or hiking or playing chess or jamming or going to art galleries. There is a reason why someone is out of character, and if you can accept that and still be there for that person, you are a true friend. You don’t walk out, you walk in.
 
Lately I have found out who my real friends are. Not just lately, per se. But in the past few years of my rollercoaster life there have been some major ups and downs that have made some people’s true personalities show. It’s hard to “break up” with friends, but sometimes you’re doing both a favor. Life isn’t just a rose-tinted bubble flavored with fabulousness. Life is serious sometimes. Unexpected things happen. But without going into much detail, I just want to point out that lately I have gotten confirmation that those I really rely on will always be there for me, and you know who you are. I love you all.
 

image via weheartit.com

Leave a Reply

